Skip to main content
Play What I Wrote show image.

The Play What I Wrote

When The Play What I Wrote opened in London’s West End, originally directed by Kenneth Branagh, every single review was a rave, every show a sell-out and it won every major theatre award. The Sunday Times called it “a triumph” and The Observer said “audiences weep with laughter”. Now a brand new production directed by The Rep’s Artistic Director Sean Foley and co-written by Hamish McColl, Sean Foley and, of course, Eddie Braben will be bringing sunshine to Birmingham this Christmas.

‘Hamish’ has written a play, an epic set in the French Revolution called ‘A Tight Squeeze for the Scarlet Pimple’. ‘Sean’, on the other hand, wants to continue with their double act. He believes that if they perform a tribute to Morecambe and Wise, Hamish’s confidence will be restored and the double act will go on. But first Sean needs to persuade a guest star to appear in the play what Hamish wrote…

With a mystery guest star at every performance, this “recklessly, tear-inducingly funny show” (The Guardian) is “a loving celebration of comic genius which is itself touched with comic genius” (Daily Telegraph).

Previous mystery guest stars have included Ralph Fiennes, Ewan McGregor, Joanna Lumley, Daniel Radcliffe, Kylie Minogue, Nigel Havers, Jerry Hall, Sir Ian McKellen, Dawn French and Sting.

Price

From £15.50

Presented by

Hamish McColl, Sean Foley and Eddie Braben

BSL Interpreted Performances

Thu 9 Dec, 2:30pm, Sat 11 Dec, 2:30pm

Socially Distanced Performances

Mon 29 Nov, 7:30pm, Wed 1 Dec, 7:30pm, Thu 2 Dec, 2:30pm, Tue 7 Dec, 7:30pm, Wed 8 Dec, 7:30pm, Thu 9 Dec, 2:30pm, Mon 20 Dec, 7:30pm, Wed 22 Dec, 2:30pm, Mon 27 Dec, 7:30pm, Thu 30 Dec, 2:30pm

 

Audio Described Performances

Wed 29 Dec, 7:30pm, Thu 30 Dec 2:30pm

Captioned Performances

Tue 28 Dec, 2:30pm, Thu 16 Dec, 7:30pm

Post Show Discussion

Thursday 09 December

Fees and Charges

Please note there is a transaction fee of £2.50 on all payment types. Please click here for more information.

sparkles3

Hilarious… The gags come thick and fast producing a kind of comic delirium
Guardian

I laughed until I cried
The Independent

A loving celebration of comic genius which is itself touched with comic genius… A glorious brilliantly judged triumph
Daily Telegraph

It’s a cascade of gags and slapstick and knowing allusions: it’s a delirium tremendous… Audiences weep with laughter
The Observer

Wildly original and theatrical
Daily Mail

The most glorious, affectionate homage to one of the greatest comedy duos of all time… I was convulsed with laugher
Mail On Sunday 

The Creative Team

Director

Sean Foley

Designer

Alice Power

Music

Steve Parry

Lighting Designer

Tim Mitchell

Choreographer

Ian West

Casting Director

Sarah Bird
Buy Tickets