Something Rotten - Birmingham Rep
Dates & Times
Thu 8 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £12.00
Fri 9 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £12.00
Sat 10 Oct 20
2.00pm
From £12.00
Sat 10 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £12.00
Tue 13 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £12.00
Wed 14 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 15 Oct 20
2.00pm
From £15.00
Thu 15 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 16 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Sat 17 Oct 20
2.00pm
From £17.00
Sat 17 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £17.00
Mon 19 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Tue 20 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Wed 21 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 22 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 23 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £17.00
Sat 24 Oct 20
2.00pm
From £17.00
Sat 24 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £17.00
Mon 26 Oct 20
7.00pm
From £15.00
Tue 27 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Wed 28 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Thu 29 Oct 20
2.00pm
From £15.00
Thu 29 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £15.00
Fri 30 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £17.00
Sat 31 Oct 20
2.00pm
From £17.00
Sat 31 Oct 20
7.30pm
From £17.00
  • Preview Performance
  • Audio Described
  • Press Night
  • Captioned
  • Relaxed Performance
  • BSL Interpreted
Description

From Broadway to Birmingham…and beyond!

Curtain up on the highly anticipated UK premiere of Something Rotten! — “"the funniest musical comedy in at least 400 years” (Time Out NY).

In 1595, brothers Nick and Nigel Bottom dream of writing a hit play, but are stuck in the shadow of that Renaissance writer/rock star William Shakespeare himself. When a local soothsayer foretells the future of theatre — a dazzling mix of singing, dancing and acting at the same time — the pair set out to write the world's first MUSICAL! Forsaking all in their bid for fame, and amidst the scandalous excitement of opening night, the Bottom brothers finally realise that real success means being true to thine own self... and all that jazz.

Described as "The Producers meets Spamalot meets The Book of Mormon... squared” (New York Magazine) and directed by The REP's Artistic Director Sean Foley (Upstart Crow in the West End) and choreographed by Carrie-Ann Ingrouille (Six The Musical), Something Rotten! is a side-splitting and toe-tapping tribute to theatre itself. Musicals had to start somewhere – and this one's starting right here in Birmingham!

 

Creatives

Director Sean Foley
Choreographer Carrie-Anne Ingrouille
Casting Director Jim Arnold CDG

The Producers meets Spamalot meets The Book of Mormon... squared

New York Magazine

the funniest musical comedy in at least 400 years

Time Out NY

the most consistently funny and expertly staged comedy since One Man Two Guvnors’

The Guardian on Upstart Crow

Carrie-Anne Ingrouille’s choreography makes Anne Boleyn’s (Millie O’Connell) text-speak Sorry Not Sorry into an exuberant toe-tapper

The Stage on Six

Ticket Information

From £15
Previews (8 - 13 Oct) from £12

 

Director's Choice
We have paired up show that we feel complement or contrast with each other to help you to discover a broader theatrical experience when choosing which shows to see. Book for the below shows at the same time and receive a £5 discount on the cost of each ticket. (Please note that this discount does not apply to the lowest tickets prices and only one discount applies per ticket.)

Directors Choice 1 - Musical ComediesBreakfast On Pluto + Something Rotten
Directors Choice 2 - Feuding Families - Calmer + Noughts & Crosses
Directors Choice 3 - Finding Your Voice - Breakfast On Pluto + Calmer

 

Fees and Charges
Please note there is a transaction fee of £2.50 on all payment types. This covers administration costs and postage and enables us to provide a dedicated booking service. This charge does not apply to transactions under £10, group bookings over 50 and school group bookings. We also waive this charge if you are a REP Friend. Please talk to a member of our BOX office team if you require further information.

Birmingham Rep Enterprises Limited.
Registered Office: Broad Street, Birmingham B1 2EP
Join our Mailing List
Sign Up Now